Click to Home
Your GovernmentCity ServicesOur CommunityHow Do I
Go To Search
City Commission
City Commissioners

Commission 2-9-16.jpg

The City Commission is made up of seven residents who then elect a mayor to lead the meetings and perform other ceremonial functions. Members of the City Commission may serve a maximum of three consecutive terms of office. City elections are generally held in the "off year" cycle of national and state elections. Generally there are four seats on the Commission that are available at each election. City Commissioners are elected at large on a citywide basis.

The Seal of the City of Plymouth, Michigan

City of Plymouth
2016 Goals

  • Resolve Last Issues Regarding Dissolution of Plymouth Community Fire Department Agreement (Primarily Pension issues)
    Goal Champions: Dalton, Dwyer, Valenti

    April 2016 - In order to move this goal along, the City of Plymouth developed a formula to apply to outstanding legacy costs and then, in collaboration with the Township Supervisor, we applied to formula to fire department retirement related health care costs.  We met twice with the Township negotiating officials in January and February and considerable positive progress was made in advancing this dialog. Very little progress was made in March or April as we awaited information from the Township.  We now have a revised spreadsheet from the township and city administration has been reviewing that information. We plan to meet with the township negotiating team the second week of May.  We are hopeful that we will reach resolution regarding the health care legacy costs within the next month or so and then begin work on resolving the pension related costs. 

  • Work Collaboratively with Plymouth Arts & Recreation Complex (PARC) organization, the Plymouth Canton School Board, and the greater Plymouth Community to continue the repurposing of Central Middle School into a high quality Arts & Recreation Complex.
    Goal Champions: Dalton, Deal, Dwyer  

    April 2016 - Commissioners Dalton, Deal and Dwyer have met twice with Don Soenen from PARC to open communications and determine ways we can work together to make PARC a success. Our City Commission goal champions have been invited to attend the PARC Board of Director's meetings to further open lines of communication and collaboration.  As a result of our meetings with Mr. Soenen, and collaboration with City Administration, we have increased nighttime police patrols in the back PARC lot.  We will also provide contact information to the PARC Board of Directors when we determine a road paving vendor for this summer's street repair program so that PARC may potentially use that same paving vendor to pave their parking lot. Steve Anderson has worked collaboratively with Mr. Soenen to make improvements to PARC swim class scheduling and registration which our Parks & Recreation Department now handles for all swim classes at PARC.  Commissioner Dalton has lead an effort to bring a Plymouth Chapter of Boys & Girls Club to PARC and those meetings are just getting started. And lastly, we are in the beginning stages of planning a "City Commission Day of Service" at the PARC where will engage in a hands-on public service project at PARC on an upcoming weekend

  • Developing a succession plan for the city’s key employees, especially considering the long tenures of many of our senior staff.
    Goal Champions: Deal, Pobur, Valenti 

    April 2016 - Initial discussions with the City Manager and City Finance Director regarding Succession Planning and identifying transition issues have begun.  Commissioner Deal, Pobur and Valenti are scheduled to meet in May to share initial feedback and brainstorm more ideas about this topic.

    However, as a result of the city’s budget planning, a new position in the budget for a deputy finance director has been added.  This person’s role is to assist with the workload of that department and to be groomed to assume the role of the finance director in the future.  The city commission is supportive of that addition.  Notably, Municipal Services and Police and Fire Departments continue to build upon and develop team members through training programs, leading to additional responsibilities in leadership roles.

  • Develop funding plan for future capital improvements.
    Goal Champions: Pobur, Wolcott, Wright

    • April 2016 - As we are all aware, there is very little discretionary funding available for anything in the city.  After discussing the capital improvement picture extensively with Paul, the truth of the matter is that we do not anticipate any significant capital improvement expenditures for the next several years.  That could change if we decide to going out for a road funding millage or bond (that will probably be necessary within the next five years) or if our financial situation brightens considerably.

    • There are a couple of capital improvement projects underway now or planned for the near future.  The first is the bleacher project at the Cultural Center.  This project provides for the replacement of the original bleachers in the structure which have been in use since 1971.  During the refurbishment, the whole arena will be painted, a new sound system will be installed and some smaller additions (lockers for coaches, etc.) will also take place.

  • Work collaboratively with the DDA, community leaders, and other organizations to plan for Plymouth’s 150th Birthday in 2017.  This includes obtaining funding for new Kellogg Park Fountain and Kellogg Park upgrades.
    Goal Champions: Deal, Wolcott, Wright

    April 2016 - Celebrating Plymouth 150 Years has been divided into a two-step process:

                    1. Kellogg Park Fountain Upgrades

                    2. A Citywide Celebration


    Kellogg Park Fountain Upgrades – Initial design concepts were completed and shared with various board members, residents, service club representatives, and interested parties at a public meeting in January. Feedback was overwhelmingly positive. The Kellogg Park/Fountain Renovation Project presentation is posted on the DDA’s website ( Changes to some of the design based on feedback from that meeting are close to finalizing and the hope is to present them to the DDA board at their May meeting. In addition, a significant donation has been secured, and will go a long way towards the projects total fundraising aim. From the onset the project has proceeded with the goal of being 100% privately funded – that is still very much on track. Additional fundraising efforts will ramp up during the summer in conjunction with the 150th celebration plans.

    The Citywide Celebration is being planned in conjunction with the park and fountain upgrades.  Relationships and partnerships with key city groups have been initiated.  Developing a brand logo for the event has also begun.  Possible advertising ideas through banners, lamppost flags, parade participation, city events and “spirit wear” have been discussed to coincide with events leading up to the celebration.  Events such as historical walks highlighting neighborhoods, people and sites from the city are being planned, as is a possible Picnic in the Park at the Parks unveiling. 

    Commissioners Deal, Wright and Wolcott have a meeting planned later this week with a reputable marketing company to discuss the possibility of assistance in the organization and implementation of this event.

Plymouth City Hall

201 S. Main
Plymouth, MI 48170

Ph: (734) 453-1234
Fx: (734) 455-1892